RESUME


This page is a longer resume with some pictures and commentary.  If you would like a printable, downloadable, google docs version click here 

Positions desired and/or qualified for: K-12 Art instructor or  K-12 Reading instructor 

Qualification Highlights


* A thorough understanding of the foundations of literacy and the teaching of reading.
* Ability to utilize art activities to teach and enhance  many subject areas.
* Experience in working with people of various age, ability levels, and backgrounds. I have taught at risk       students in a lockup facility, finger painted with elementary students, taught various grade level ODE test taking skills,  helped adults study towards their GED,  and have taught college age students how to do research, prepare presentations and assemble digital portfolios.  


Currently...

I'm currently working as an art and/or reading teacher in Canton, Ohio and teaching weekends and/or evenings at Lorain County Community College. You can see what I'm doing in class by visiting my art teacher or my reading teacher site. Lots of class activities are on the sites, but you might have to poke around a bit it you want to see a certain age group or activity.  Plus I've been redoing all my sites to make them a bit more phone friendly, so some pages don't look quite right yet.  


I've worked for the past 10 years as a  reading, math  LD instructor (under temporary certification) at Citizen's Academy. I worked with K-5th grade students in a small group setting under, Title One guide lines to augment regular classwork, teach reading and math skills, write IEPs, administer various academic assessments(WIAT, Iowa, Brigance, Scantron, etc.) and am a member of the IAT team which meets with teachers, administrators and parents to solve individual student problems. I've created and adapted curriculum to help students study for, and pass the yearly round of ODE tests and assessments.     2002-present
*
   This has been a great job and I have learned a lot!  I was hired as a reading instructor and then due to some people leaving was thrust into special ed, because of previous experience.  The school is located in the University Circle/Hough area in the great big gold domed Jewish Temple. The school is an open-to-the-public, non-profit  charter school which makes it quite a bit different than many of the "for profit" charter schools.  The school has been through, I believe, at least, 8  principals with a couple of substitutes since I've been working there and has steadily improved it's scores in the various mandated Ohio assessments.  At at this time it is ranked as one of the best Elementary schools in Cleveland.  The special education department is currently performing in the top 20%-30%  of all the schools in Ohio. Having been at Citizens' Academy for 10 years, and probably the only consistent staff member in special ed, I'd like to think I played a part. 
___________________________________

I currently work part time at Lorain County Community College, I teach an arts class for educators. It is a  a class for future educators and teachers working towards re-certification. In this class I'm responsible for the following and adapting a curriculum, writing the syllabus, assisting with student research and
project completion, assessing students, and delivering final grades.  I also teach on alternate semesters  a jewelry making/small metals class.  I've taught part time at LCCC for at least 15 years.

I've also taught in the College for kids program that runs in the summer.  This is primarily 4 hour, week long workshop sessions where various arts activities(clay, drawing, jewelry, paper mache, etc) are taught.
*
Teaching at LCCC has been great over the years!  I've taught arts and crafts to people studying to be teachers and teachers looking to re certify.  I won't go into details here because there is an individual post (click here to go to that page ) that shows some of the projects I've taught and I've posted a syllabus,( click here ) which gives a breakdown as to what projects I've taught.  Teaching the jewelry class has been great too.  I've learned a lot trying to answer the questions of students taking the class.  For more details I've posted a link to the Jewelry making blog on the left hand side of all the posts
________________________________

I have  produced and sold jewelry and conducted jewelry making workshops at various locations.

Past...
Worked as an LD tutor at Coventry Elementary where I primarily augmented K-5th grade students reading and  math, along with providing academic testing, writing IEPs, conducting MFE's and serving on the school's problem solving team. 1999-2002
*
   Working at Coventry Elementary School in Cleveland Heights was a great gig!  The parents and the staff were wonderful and I learned much about the teaching of reading and various details about teaching in an LD environment.  I had my students' illustrated academic work hung across the street at the Arabica Coffee house and received many pats on the back (and free coffee) for the effort. We even had "opening nights" when we changed out work.  My students and I silk-screened book bags to pass out and did many other projects to assist with learning how to read.
________________________________

   Taught at Cleveland Municipal schools as a K-8 art teacher.  Two students had their work selected for display by the AAA and one student had her work on a non-violent theme enlarged for billboard use. I also participated in an after school academic (math) and a jewelry program.  2000-1999 and 1987-1990
*
 Teaching for Cleveland is a real mixed bag of experiences.  I worked at some great schools and I've worked at some not so great schools. And I worked at too many schools that were closed.   At Verda Brobst I helped a teacher stretch blue tarps over roof leaks while at the other end of the building the tile was being needlessly removed and replaced, and this was in a school that was scheduled to be closed down at the end of the year and razzed due to the close proximity of Cleveland-Hopkins Airport construction. On the other hand I taught at Hicks Montessori which was a great school run by the principal, Barbara Booker, a wonderful principal, located right next to the West Side Market.  At Waverly, another very nice school, I had a class of over 35 students and we did clay and finger painted on a regular basis without any negatives and within a 45 minute time slot!  At Willson, on E. 55th I had an after school jewelry class and the math teacher(Mr. Bosart) and myself competed in a math competition where our students completed a large geometric Sierpinski  pyramid.  


________________________________
I taught SBH classes for Warren City Schools where I wrote IEPs and was responsible for all academic subjects. I utilized art as a reward and as an aid for regular school work. 

Conducted educational and informational seminars geared towards the sales of musical instruments, literature and related items at Warren Music Center.  I worked with a full time staff of 12, was a buyer at NAMM conventions, and was the treasurer on record.  I also did some of the instrument, equipment repair, and service in addition to some teaching of banjo and guitar. This was a fun job and I got it, mostly, because I could play the Deliverance theme on the banjo and Stairway to Heaven on the guitar. It's odd the way things work out.  The photo below is from a newspaper ad.



Designed and ran the first art program at Lake County Juvenile Justice Center.  Major goal was to provide an arts experience that would help foster a positive self-image. I  assisted with Project Checkmate, a court ordered activity which exposed young repeat offenders to adult prison life at Marion Correctional Facility.  In this position I also taught GED coursework and visited most prison facilities in Ohio.

Worked as a substitute high school  and junior high school teacher.

Related Experience

Have been involved in various art groups and have had my own work on exhibit and for sale in gift shops and galleries in North east Ohio.  Have had work featured in magazines and newspapers.

Have been involved with teaching and working with my hands for most of my life.

Education

Cleveland State University, Masters in Curriculum and Instruction and coursework leading to certification in K-12 reading.  graduated in 2007.

Kent State University , BFA in art and art education. Graduated in 1979.

PDF Newspaper Resume

  I did the  PDF resume below using Open Office and Paint.Net.  I opened up the code for this page and pasted in(embedded would be the professional term) the HTML to get it to appear as you see below. I'm getting a bit more comfortable/less anxious about inserting and altering HTML code.   It took me while to learn to use the page breaks, 3 column format, editing,  re-sizing, and positioning  the pictures between the two programs. Open Office gives you a file option to export a document as PDF, so it was real easy.   I like the way it looks though. I wanted a small file to e-mail and I wanted something that looked 'kinda different from everybody else's resume.   



Other Skill Sets

I worked my way through college  building houses(framed roofs, mostly), built grain storage silos,  wrenched on cars,and drove a garbage truck.  

Concerning houses I've: repaired and replaced roofs, installed skylights(and fixed leaks!), built additions and my current studio, hung and finished drywall, installed interior, exterior, and pocket doors, interior and exterior painting(sprayed and brushed), installed toilets, sinks, water heaters and associated plumbing(copper, pex, drains, etc), dug out my back basement wall, dug and installed sump and pump, cut and installed ceramic tile for floors and back splash, cut and installed granite counter top, removed and replaced windows, exterior siding, gutters, ran wires, installed breaker box, ran phone lines, set up wireless internet, refinished oak floors, installed hardwood and laminate flooring, and in short, I think I've done most things required to keep a house functioning over 25+years and I 'kinda like that sort of thing. That being said, I'm paying somebody soon to remove some trees and limbs, I'm not real keen on heights.    

Concerning cars and motorcycles; drum & disc brake repair(calipers, master cylinders, etc) and replacement, clutch repair and replacement, transmission replacement(only to get at the clutch), piston and ring replacement(motorcycles), cylinder head replacement, fuel pumps, gas tanks, various fuel and electric problems, cooling system repairs and replacements involving hoses, water pumps, radiators, installed 3 sunroofs(with no leaks ever!)and exhaust system repair and replacement.  No motorcycles at this time, I'm mostly into road and mountain bikes, that seems to satisfy my urge to interact with wheels and gears. I've owned Volkswagons, Renaults, Chevys, Fords, Hondas,  Saabs, a Subaru and one Toyota motor home..


No comments:

Post a Comment